Spring Has Sprung

Today is the first day of spring. Sun is shining and I’m planting a herb garden tomorrow. I have Dill and Tarragon still growing from last year. They made it through the cooler weather and continue to grow.

In my herb garden, I am planting Thyme, Parsley, Cilantro and Oregano as well as some Catnip for my cats. I love to use fresh herbs when I cook. Last year I started drying herbs at the end of the summer so I would not have to buy them during the winter months. This saves money because herbs and spices are so expensive in the store.

My herb garden is planted in a plastic container that is about 2 ft long, 1 foot wide and 6 inches deep so I can bring it in if it gets too cold at night. I am using dirt from my pig’s pen because this is fertilized soil and will help the seeds grow.

It looks like it takes 10 days up to 8 weeks for the first sprouts to show up. This means by May my herb garden should be green and thriving – I’ll make sure to give you an update when they are ready to use.

Leave a Reply

