Sugar Cookie

I pulled out a recipe for sugar cookies that my grandmother had given me. I got all the ingredients out and noticed there was no instructions. Can you image? Could I figure out how to bake them? Duh – then I remembered that my grandmother let us eat the cookie dough so we never had enough to bake.

I continued this tradition with my kids. We’d make a batch of sugar cookie dough and eat the whole bowl. Below are the ingredients and I have added instructions so you can cook them if you like 🙂

1 c. shortening
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tbsp. Milk
1 tsp. Vanilla
3 c. flour
3 tsp. Baking powder

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a cookie sheet and set aside.

Mix shortening, sugar, eggs, milk and vanilla in a large bowl until smooth and creamy. Put flour and baking powder into bowl and mix until combined.

On a floured surface roll dough to approximately 1/4” thick. Cut with 3” glass (you can also use any cookie cutters you have to make fun shapes). Sprinkle sugar or decorative sprinkles on each cookie. Place cookies on cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 10 minutes.

One thought on “Sugar Cookie

Leave a Reply

