Dog Pillow

We have large dogs that are getting older and thought it would be nice for them to have a soft place to sleep. When I was looking at dog pillow/beds at the store they started at around $19.99 for a 3 X 3 bed and went up from there. I decided to try and make one at home with materials I already had. No costs just some time.

 

DoggieBed1I found a piece of red denim and a piece of yellow corduroy. I knew it would have to be heavy material because dogs love to claw and rearrange where they are going to sleep. For the stuffing I used an old foam pad that I was no longer using. I cut both pieces of material 3 X 3. (My denim was not quite wide enough so I had to sew 2 pieces together. This is not recommend but can work if you double stitch the seam.) As the foam pad was about 1 1/2” thick, I also cut 2” strips for the sides out of the red denim.

 

DoggieBed3After cutting the pieces, I sewed the strips together and then sewed them to the sides of 1 large piece. After that was done, I attached the second piece to the sides making sure to leave a section unsewn to insert the stuffing. After inserting the foam pad, I hand stitched the opening. Voila!!! Nice dog pillow – soft and nice looking too!!!

 

As this was the first one I have made, I found that the hand stitching of the opening did not work well because anything with animals needs to be cleaned/washed on occasion. In order to make this simpler, I have placed velcro on the two sides of the opening to keep it closed. This seems to work except I really need an additional 1/2” of material so it closes better which I will do when I make another one.

 

This little project was pretty easy. So if you want to make a pillow for your animals, take a look around your house and see if you have some heavy material and some kind of padding to use. Your dogs (and cats) will love you for it 🙂DoggieBed4

Leave a Reply

