Embroidered Baby Quilt

Embroidered Baby Quilt (2)I pulled this quilt out the other day and thought I would share on this blog. This is an embroidered baby quilt that I completed when my grandmother was still alive. As you can see, it is 6 different animals embroidered.

Embroidered Baby Quilt (5)

Embroidered Baby Quilt (3)

Embroidered Baby Quilt (6)
Embroidered Baby Quilt (7)
Embroidered Baby Quilt (8)
Embroidered Baby Quilt (4)

She is the one that introduced me to quilting. My grandmother did everything by hand from stitching the pattern on the top – connecting the blocks – apply the binding – and finally the quilting. This quilt I completely did by hand and used a large wooden hoop to do the quilting. I don’t have any grandchildren but think I will hold on to it just to remember what a gift my grandmother gave to me when she taught me how to quilt.

 

I also am finishing an applique quilt that I started cutting out for my grandmother many years ago.  I finally have finished the top last year and I am quilting it by using the sewing machine.  I will share it when it is completed.

Leave a Reply

