Chili Cheese Pie

With today being National Cheese Day, I will share this recipe that I whip up once in a while: Chili Cheese Pie. This is something I make when I want something cheesy and greasy.  Combine an equal amount of ground beef and chirizo, brown it, add green pepper and onion. Season with salt, pepper and cayenne for a kick. Add diced chilis and cilantro. Place in a baking dish

and cover with a thick layer of cheddar cheese.  

Then make a batter from flour, baking powder, just a little sugar, milk, egg, salt & pepper and pour on top of cheese.  

Bake until crust is brown and it is warmed through. I usually bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes.  These pictures are the first time I used coconut flour in this recipe. Obviously I wasn’t paying attention as it got a little browner than it should have.  But it was still delicious.

Leave a Reply

